On Being an Elder

Allan

It seems to have gone on forever. The people that know me call me Elder, Uncle, Father, Wise Man, Old Pot, Moondog and a host of other salutations.
Others might see me as a man in his 60s doing strange things that don’t necessarily fit their perspective of what a man of this age “should” be doing or saying.

How do I see myself?

“I am my word. I am a fearless storyteller sharing his stories. I have lived an extraordinary life (and continue to do so). It is a good day to die!”

Every day of my life I wake up to a new dawn with a sense of gratitude. Being alive and having the ability to meet the day and it’s challenges with a feeling of adventure and intention without the attachment to an expectation of ‘how the day should turn out’, is a gift of freedom I give to myself.

Every moment is an opportunity for me to consider the Kindness Factor. I see the Kindness Factor as a state of awareness whereby if I really care about another, I need to feel kindness towards myself.
How might this show up?
An example: I arrive home from work after a long, challenging and tiring day. My partner catches me as I walk into our home and starts telling me about an experience of hers. My mind is spinning and I am not centred and able to give full attention to her story. Being polite is not kind to me or to her as I am not present to what is being said. The kindness Factor kicks in, and I say, “I really want to hear what went on for you but I need a little time to gather myself. After a short walk I am all yours.”

This could go another way…. her experience might be quite traumatic and she has been waiting a while for me to come home. Realising the urgency and importance of talking sooner rather than later I say, “Okay, I am wiped out and am willing to listen for a few minutes NOW before going for a walk, then we can have a bigger conversation on my return.”
This is the Kindness Factor kicking in again by allowing the release of enough pressure to create a holding situation while I deal with my weariness.

Where does god appear in my life?

I have no image of what or who god might be. It is good enough for me to know that I am ruled by the need to live a life of dignity (towards self and other), have a desire to connect and belong to my heart community, and to have a sense of purpose and what my contribution might be.

The organisation of religion holds no attraction to me whatsoever. For me spirituality is very personal. I commune with that which is greater than me every day, through nature, caring for my wellbeing, a sense of gratitude, and seeing the beauty and greatness in others and reflecting it back to them.

The possibility of magic exists in every moment!

By Allan Rudner

share some love

