The Room Illuminated

T R I

I started my blog, The Room Illuminated, in December last year. I had been studying interior design for a few years and was looking for a creative way to use the skills and knowledge I had learnt along the way. Despite enjoying all the theory and practical study, I realised that – at its core – I really just loved looking at other people’s rooms: whether in a magazine, on television, or perhaps more disturbingly on my evening walks around the neighbourhood, when I  would walk past peoples’ homes that had left the lights on and blinds open and sneak a peak from the footpath. I love to imagine who lives in there, what goes on in the room, how the occupier connects with their space, and the treasures within it.

And so I started a blog that takes the viewer off the footpath and straight into that illuminated room – the favourite spaces of everyday, ordinary people. I bought myself a new camera and then started the task of teaching myself how to operate it (as I did not have any previous photographic experience). The blog is still only a few months old but the reception so far has been wonderful. I am meeting new people who are two- or even three-degrees of separation from me, and I love being welcomed into their favourite spaces and sharing these rooms with the public.

I’m working on the premise that humans are naturally curious, and perhaps even a little voyeuristic, by nature. And because of this, I’m confident that people will get a kick out of looking into the favourite rooms of others, despite the fact that they’re not all architects, designers and artists. In fact, I’m hoping they’ll like it more because of this!

By Kate

One comment

  1. So lovely to see the concept for The Room Illuminated on your site. Thanks again! Kate x

share some love

